News and Notes from Donna

News you can Use!

Red Hen once again
Feb 18 welcomed first timers Jon Williamson and Sal Acosta

New Feature! Happy CVR Birthdays!

Happy Birthday this week to: Chris Keller, Richard Boisseau, Judy Thurlow, Diane Blanchong, Daniel Hoyne-Grosvenor, Jacob Bradley, Steven Burkholder, Alex Sowa, Brian Burns, Kirstin Nyquist, Shaina Kasper, Beth Bingham, Herbert Hatch, & Kathryn Pilliod!

**this is a new feature I thought would be fun. If you don’t want to be listed, let me know. If I miss you, sorry, I’m getting it from the membership list which doesn’t have everyone’s birthday on it.

The Saturday CVR Winter Long Run for Feb 26 will be hosted by John Martin in Berlin. Meet at the new Maplewood Travelers Center, Saturday at 9:30 a.m. ready to run. Contact John Martin for more information Frequent Sat. group runner Nina Aitken submitted this article which supports the popularity of the Saturday and Wednesday workouts. And the unofficial Tuesday Fun Runs are just around the corner.
Continue reading News and Notes from Donna

News and Notes from Donna

News you can Use!

Back by Popular Demand!
Red Hen was most popular winter series run in years one month ago.
Can we get an encore Feb 18?

The Saturday CVR Winter Long Run for Feb 18 will be hosted by Bob Emmons. Meet at the Red Hen in Middlesex, Saturday at 9:30 a.m. ready to run. Contact Bob Emmons for more information and to let him know you are on your way: And Red Hen plows their parking lots! (you could ask Jeff why I am noting this).

Reminder: Sign up for Mount Washington Road Race lottery is now open! Join Mike Gillis, Dot Helling and myself in our annual trek up the mountain. It’s Only One Hill! Be sure to put CVR as your club if you sign up. Rumors that Jeff and Andy are putting in their names. Who else? Will we see the return of famous (in the MWRR world) CVR runners Keith Woodward or Eric Morse? Any chance they would put CVR as their club?
Continue reading News and Notes from Donna

News and Notes from Donna

News you can Use!

Even on a snowy night, the Wednesday speedsters have fun!

The Saturday CVR Winter Long Run for Feb 11 will be hosted by the Maple Corner group of Meredith, Thorin and Lance. Meet across from the Maple Corner Store at 32 W. County Rd., Saturday at 9:30 a.m. I recall that last year there was a big turnout of speedy runners in addition to a few of us old plodders at the Maple Corner winter run. Contact Meredith Naughton for more information
Continue reading News and Notes from Donna

News and Notes from Donna


Sandy presents last year’s Spirit of the Club Award to John Martin.
Who will be the 2017 recipient?

I hope to see most of you at Positive Pie Thursday at 5:45 for cash bar and 6:30 for dinner. I sure hope anybody who wants to attend RSVP’d. If you can’t make it at the last minute, let John Martin know to help with seating. Positive Pie is in City Place, the same building as Rehab Gym. Here is a link with a map and address: Positive Pie Barre. There should be parking behind the building and on the streets at that time of day. I don’t have a volunteer photographer for the event yet. Bring your camera and let me know if you can get some good shots!

This week’s CVR Winter Long Run will be hosted by Rowly Brucken. Meet at Lisa and Rowly’s home at 252 Central St. in Northfield, ready to run at 9:30 a.m. Saturday. Contact Rowly,, for questions and last minute notices.

Brief News & Notes since I’m holding off on tweeting or signing any executive orders this week,

Ongoing events

CVR Saturday Morning Winter Long Runs. Contact Jeff Prescott to be included in the weekly information emails.

CVR Speed Workout Wednesdays at 6 pm–Yes, they really do continue. Meet near the MHS track on the bike path. Bring a headlamp! Contact Steve Hill if you have questions and want to be added to his email list.

Official Fun Runs for 2016 are over! See you there in April/May at 5:30 on Tuesdays

Upcoming events

–> 1/26 CVR Annual Volunteer and Awards Dinner at Positive Pie in Barre

–> 1/29 Boston Prep 16 Miler, Derry NH

–> 2/11 Cupid 5K, Shelburne, VT

–> 2/24-2/25 World Snowshoe Championships Saranac Lake, NY

Feel free to email me any additional events that should be listed here